Review: Hot Tub Time Machine (2010) R

Posted on July 17, 2010

0


Overall recommendation: See It!

Cast

John Cusack – Adam

Rob Corddry – Lou

Craig Robinson – Nick Webber

Clark Duke – Jacob

Hot Tub Time Machine had plenty of laughs and plenty of memories. Who can forget leg warmers, parachute pants and personal cassette players? The plot of the movie is that three friends are bored and unhappy in their adult lives and decide to go back and spend the weekend at a ski resort that they previously had one of the best times of their lives. Along for the trip is Adam’s nephew Jacob who never sees the light of day and just plays video games in the basement all the time. Upon arrival they find that the ski resort is now run down and pretty much deserted. They stay in the same room they had stayed in previously and find that now there is a hot tub outside on the deck. After a night in the hot tub where the four of them drink themselves into oblivion they wake up to find they are back in the same weekend in 1986. Maybe this time they can relive some good times, right some wrongs and in the process find themselves again.

I had a great time watching this DVD with my brother. I am a fan of most John Cusack movies and this one was no exception. Like I said before it brought back a lot of memories for us and to say we laughed would be an understatement. I think we laughed from start to finish. In my opinion Craig Robinson and Rob Corddry are two of the absolute best supporting actors of the last few years. For us they made this movie. Craig Robinson (Knocked Up) has made me laugh in every movie I’ve seen him in. I also thought Rob Corddry was hilarious in What Happens in Vegas. There are also some actors from the 80s that I hadn’t seen in a long time such as Chevy Chase (Vacation), Crispin Glover (Back to the Future) and William Zabka (Johnny from Karate Kid).

Overall I would say this is definitely one to watch for anyone who grew up in the 80s and wants to have fun remembering and having a good laugh. Or if you are just in the mood to watch a damn funny movie, go for it.

Posted in: Movie Reviews